Sanitas Intro: Zach

Zach Nichols is one of the co-founders of the upcoming Sanitas Brewing Company.

What was your first craft beer experience?

My first experience with good beer was years ago when I was working as a stock boy at a high end beer store. Like most young college students, I had vast experience with watered down yellow fizzy beer. One day after work my boss allowed us to grab six beers of our liking to bring home. To be honest I based most of my choices off of label art. However, I did strike gold on a couple bottles. Gumballhead from Three Floyds in Indiana became an all-time favorite and i was amazed at the depth of flavor in Founders’ Backwoods Bastard.

What is your favorite beer style to brew and drink?

I really enjoy getting creative with my brewing. I tend to make a lot of big beers, but balance is still key. Lately I’ve put a lot of focus into sessionable, lower strength beers. These styles tend to be tougher to nail down. With the less aggressive flavor, you really need find the right balance of malts, hops, and yeast and any faults really stand out. My style of choice when it comes to drinking varies on the season and what I’m doing. Lately I’ve really been enjoying Saisons and Stouts.

What excites you the most about getting Sanitas up and running?

Mingling with locals in our tap room and offering more unique brews to the front range beer scene.

Why do you enjoy living in Boulder?

There is an endless list of things to do. I really enjoy getting outdoors so the hiking, kayaking, skiing is a big draw. The amazing beer community doesn’t hurt either.

If you could do a dream collaboration brew, who would it be with?

Probably Sixpoint out of Brooklyn, NY. They make some really fun, high quality beer and the founder, Shane, is a buddy and fellow Wisconsinite. In the area, i think it would be fun to work with Chad at Crooked Stave. He likes to take chances with his beer and usually knocks it out of the park!

Sanitas Brewing Company is scheduled to open this Spring in Boulder, Colorado.

zach

Leave a comment