Sanitas Intro: Chris

Chris Coyne is one of the co-founders of the upcoming Sanitas Brewing Company.

What was your first craft beer experience?

While I was in high school, my father began to homebrew. This exposed me to brewing as a way to explore. He had beers that he enjoyed and would occasionally share with me like Bass Ale and Sam Adams. His attempts at developing his own beers proved very inspirational to me and I have carried them with me to this day.

What is your favorite beer style to brew and drink?

I think my favorite style to drink is so varied that it is hard to pin down. I like different styles at different times of the year. I like stouts a lot on the winter and sour beers in the summer. I like to drink Saisons all through the year but not necessarily every day. My favorite style to brew is absolutely Saison. I think it is it a style with so much potential for a modern American craft brewer, I think it is a yeast with so much personality, and I find it so satisfying to brew.

What excites you the most about getting Sanitas up and running?

I can’t wait to focus my talents on beers that I am truly passionate about and I look forward to meeting all of the new people who will come though our doors.

Why do you enjoy living in Boulder?

I love living in Boulder for so many reasons. I love the climate (so much sun), the food, the mountains and open space, the other amazing breweries, but most of all I love the people and the culture they have built and continue to embrace. It is a city of entrepreneurs and dreamers, intellectuals and environmentalists, athletes and foodies all of whom broaden my perspectives and challenge my assumptions.

If you could do a dream collaboration brew, who would it be with?

I am really torn on this one and there are really two that jumped into my mind. The first is the Bruery in California. They have a lineup of beers that I absolutely love and every time I try a new beer of theirs I am intrigued and often amazed. I have such a tremendous amount of respect for their products that I would love to do a collaborative brew with them. The other brewery that I think of is Berkshire Brewing Company (BBC) in South Deerfield, Massachusetts. This is a brewery that I volunteered at during college and this is the place that I realized that people can make beer for a living. I have such fond memories of this brewery, their staff, and their products that I would love to spend time working with them again.

Sanitas Brewing Company is scheduled to open this Spring in Boulder, Colorado.

chris

Leave a comment