Sanitas Intro: Michael

Michael Memsic is one of the co-founders of the upcoming Sanitas Brewing Company.

What was your first craft beer experience?

My first Craft Beer experience happened in the fall of 1999 during my first semester at the University of Colorado. I was introduced to Honey Brown by Genesee Brewing Company and Fat Tire from New Belgium. Soon after, I was exploring all that Colorado had to offer in craft beer, searching for everything new and different while I had forgotten about popular American Lagers. I was intrigued by the complex and full flavors, which put me on the path to fall in love with the industry.

What is your favorite beer style to brew and drink?

I have a couple styles that a particularly enjoy brewing. I love working with Saisons and all that they have to offer. I am a believer that there is a renaissance happening within the Saison style. There is so much room to explore with what this great yeast style has to offer and I think that American Craft Brewers will push this style to new boundaries. I am optimistic that Sanitas will be on the forefront of this revolution.

I am also very interested in brewing wild beers. I love the evolution of yeast and the story behind how this evolution comes about. The idea and concept behind a wild yeast and the additions of controlled yeast bacteria get me excited unlike anything else in beer.

My favorite style of beer to drink varies from day to day and with my respective situation. I love to pair beer with my activity and the food that I am eating. I often look for beers that inspire my palette like complex Sours but just as often a clean, crisp Pilsner will please my palette.

What excites you the most about getting Sanitas up and running?

Getting Sanitas up and running has been the biggest goal of my life. Having the opportunity to provide these beers to this community is something that I have been looking forward to for the last decade and a half!

Why do you enjoy living in Boulder?

First off, Boulder is my home! I was a child in the Bay Area of California and went to High School in Minnesota. Since coming to the University of Colorado, I have not considered living anywhere else. The culture and community here are unique and congruent with the way I like to live my life. Then with the beautiful mountains always in the background and the amazing skiing just a couple hours away, I feel like I am living in paradise.

If you could do a dream collaboration brew, who would it be with?

The two breweries that I would most like to collaborate with at this point in time are Russian River and Boulder Beer. I mention Boulder Beer because they are the company that I grew up with as a brewer. Much of who I am today as a brewer is because of the standards and freedom that I have experienced while working with that team. To brew again with them would be a great way to tip the hat as Sanitas gets going.

Russian River is one of my favorite breweries in the United States and beyond that I would have the opportunity to learn so much about barrel aging, sour beers, and the beers that are pushing the envelope of the culture of craft beer. This to me is the most exciting part about collaboration brewing, the opportunity to learn and celebrate for both the individual brewers and the breweries as a whole.

Sanitas Brewing Company is scheduled to open this Summer in Boulder, Colorado.

mike


Leave a comment